Home » Technology » Facebook makes it easier to ignore annoying friends
Technology

Facebook makes it easier to ignore annoying friends

[X]

Facebook is making it easier to ignore your most annoying friends.

The social network has created a Snooze option, which you can use to mute people and pages for a certain amount of time, blocking their updates from your News Feed.

You can choose to Snooze accounts for 24 hours, seven days or 30 days.

The feature was first spotted by TechCrunch. To Snooze an account, you need to hit the menu button at the top-right of an update and select Unfollow or Snooze.  

Snooze is a convenient, non-permanent alternative to completely Unfollowing someone – which is still an option.

It can be easy to lose track of people you’ve Unfollowed, and re-Following them – if you so wish – isn’t a completely straightforward process.

You can either head to all of their profiles individually or launch News Feed Preferences, which is well-hidden inside the column to the left of the News Feed.

From there, you can head into the Reconnect With People You’ve Unfollowed section and browse through the list of people you’ve banished from your digital dominion.

Snooze is not yet available to all users, as it’s currently still being tested by Facebook, but it will hopefully roll out more widely in the near future. 

The social network is also working on a new app, called Bonfire, which it hopes will change how people communicate online.



Source link