Congress Leads In Mungaoli, Kolaras, BJD Wins Bijepur


Counting of votes for by-polls in Mungaoli and Kolaras in Madhya pradesh is ongoing (File)

New Delhi:  The Congress was leading in both the Madhya Pradesh assembly seats where by-elections were held last week. In Kolaras constituency, Congress candidate Mahendra Singh Yadav maintained his lead, established in the first round. In Mungaoli, Congress’ Brijendra Singh Yadav was ahead of his rival BJP candidate. The outcome of the two by-polls, held on February 24, are being seen as a possible pointer to the mood of people ahead of the Assembly elections due later this year in the BJP-ruled state. The by-polls were necessitated due to the death of Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli in Ashoknagar district) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras in Shivpuri district). The BJP has fielded Baisahab Yadav from Mungaoli and Devendra Jain from Kolaras.

In Odisha,  the ruling BJD marched ahead of BJP establishing a huge margin in the by-election for Bijepur Assembly seat. BJD nominee Rita Sahu won the seat with nearly 42,000 votes over her nearest BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi.

Here are the live updates of by-poll results in Madhya Pradesh and Odisha:

In Odisha’s Bijepur bypolls BJD’s Rita Sahu got 1,02,871 votes while BJP candidate got 60,938 votes. Congress’ Pranay Sahu bagged only 10,274. The seat was earlier held Congress.

In another tweet, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik also said, “I thank each and every BJD worker who has worked hard for this. We will continue our efforts to build a prosperous and empowered Odisha. Jai Jagannath.”

 BJD lives in the hearts of the people of Odisha: Naveen Patnaik

Reacting on the Bijepur bypoll result, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said, “Humbled by love and trust of the people of Bijepur for giving BJD a massive victory.” He also said that BJD lives in the hearts of the people of Odisha and People of the state are peace loving and have rejected the politics of hatred and violence.

BJD wins Odisha’s Bijepur bypoll by nearly 42,000 votes

In Odisha’s Bijepur, BJD’s Rita Sahu wins by a margin of 41,933 votes. She defeated her nearest BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi. he by-poll for Bijepur Assembly seat was held on February 24. The by-poll was necessitated due to the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu in August, 2017.

BJD candidate Rita Sahu is the widow of Congress MLA Subal Sahu who died in August 2017, necessitating by-polls in Bijepur

Suspended BJD MP Baijayant ‘Jay’ Panda congratulated Rita Sahu who has a massive lead over BJP candidate in Bijepur.

Madhya Pradesh: In Kolaras, after seventh round of counting, Congress leads over BJP by 2263 votes

Madhya Pradesh: Congress leading over BJP by 3,834 votes, after the seventh round of counting in Mungaoli

Odisha: BJD candidate Rita Sahu extends her lead by over 40, 000 votes against BJP’s Ashok Panigrahi; Congress trailing at number three in Bijepur by-polls

Tight contest between Congress and BJP in Kolaras and Mungaoli, ahead of assembly polls due later in 2018

Madhya Pradesh: Close fight between Congress and BJP in Kolaras

Odisha: BJD establishes big margin in the by-election for Bijepur Assembly seat as per latest trends, say poll officials

Results of the Odisha and Madhya Pradesh by-polls are being keenly watched as possible indicators of people’s mood ahead of parliamentary elections in 2019

Madhya Pradesh: By-polls in Kolaras was necessitated after sitting Congress MLA Ram Singh Yadav died 

Madhya Pradesh: By-polls in Mungaoli was necessitated after the death of sitting Congress MLA Mahendra Singh Kalukheda

Odisha: By-polls in Bijepur was held on February 24; voter turnout was over 70 per cent

Odisha: Counting on for 11th out of 21 rounds in Bijepur by-poll

Odisha: BJD…

Source link